Happy 2013!

This blog has been dormant for over 5 years, and it’s time to get reacquainted.

Last you heard from me, I was wrapping up 14 months in India, where I worked as a freelance journalist specializing in science and medicine. I have since returned to New York and, starting almost as soon as my plane hit the ground, been writing and editing for the cardiology news website TCTMD. For obvious reasons, I can’t write directly about the people and research I deal with at work every day. But I look forward to using this space in other ways, namely to think about what it means to be a journalist who speaks to a specialized, well-informed audience.

What, as a medical journalist, do I have to offer physicians with mountains of expertise? And what choices do I make when writing within very tight word counts and daily deadlines?

Leave a Reply

